Redoing Media

redoing

I listen to podcasts for approximately three hours every single day, which is the amount of time the average American watches television, so I don't feel badly about it. The advantage of podcasts is that I can listen while walking around instead of melting into the couch. Thanks to the podcasters in my life, whose voices have the same effect on me as those of my best friends, I have destroyed my shoes.

Well, now it's time for me to sit on the other side of the microphone. I will be a guest on Redoing Media, a world-class podcast about the future of information that happens to air on cascadia.fm right here in Portland, Oregon. The show is hosted by Betsy Richter and Robert Wagner, two Portland trailblazers of media, and it will be an honor to share bandwidth with them.

We'll talk about the overall state of the converging industries of publishing and computer technology, but we'll also focus on the formidable challenge of teaching the many skills needed to navigate them and the world they've created. Whether you're teaching news and technology literacy to students, consumers, or even producers, it's hard to keep pace with the ever-shifting landscape, but there are some fundamental principles that have recently emerged and will be with us for a long time. Our society has made the digital leap, so the ground rules have changed. It has been said, but I'll say it again: We're all publishers now.

The show will air Thursday, June 16 at 2:00 p.m. Pacific, 3:00 p.m. Mountain, 4:00 p.m. Central, and 5:00 p.m. Eastern for my American audience, 21:00 GMT, and the rest of you can do the math. It's an hour long.

To listen live, go to cascadia.fm or redoingmedia.com and click 'listen live' at the appointed hour.

To listen later, visit redoingmedia.com after the fact, or you can subscribe in iTunes, and the show will come to you.

Follow @redoingmedia on Twitter. Subscribe to redoingmedia.com via RSS.

I hope you'll tune in! Don't worry; I'll remind you.

What are some of your favorite podcasts? Share them in the comments.